walk: Isaiah 53:6

A post about God’s love and continual grace throughout my walk with him.

“We all, like sheep, have gone astray, each of us has turned to our own way; and the Lord has laid on him the iniquity of us all.” Isaiah 53:6

I’ve read that verse dozens of times. I memorized it in the fourth grade, I’ve heard it recited during numerous sermons. I’ve read it in my own personal devotions.

But for some reason, today it took on a new meaning for me.

Notice that the Bible does not say “We all, like murderers, have killed many people,” or “We all, like cheaters, have lied and stolen,” and THAT’S the type of sin that the Lord laid on Jesus to bear for us. No, the Bible clearly states that “We all, like sheep, have gone astray, each of us has turned to our own way.”

Jesus endured anguish and pain on the cross because everyday I choose to “do my own thing.” At this point in my walk with Christ, it’s not that I’m constantly committing what we like to call the Big Sins: cheating, stealing, lying, killing, having sex, doing drugs, etc. I’ve simply started going my own way. I’ve begun to ignore the presence of God in my life. Slowly but surely the voice of God has been replaced with a much louder voice: me. I still read my Bible, attend church, and go through all of the motions just like I always have. My own path looks surprisingly godly, but it is full of pride and selfish ambition. Jesus knows that I’m going my own way, and it is for this that he died.

“We all, like sheep, have gone astray, each of us has turned to our own way; and the Lord has laid on him the iniquity of us all.”

My selfish ambition pierced and crushed my Savior, who loved me enough to endure it. How can I walk on any other path but his?

Leave a Reply

