walk: a chapel reminder

A post about God’s love and continual grace throughout my walk with him.

At Asbury, students are required to attend a chapel service three times a week. At first I thought that this was unfair and annoying, but over my four years here I’ve come to the surprising realization that my favorite thing about Asbury is my time in chapel. It’s the only place where the entire student body gathers on campus, which makes it not only a big attraction for school pranks, but also the primary location for the development of school community. Our experiences in chapel are shared by every student at Asbury, which means that we talk about them over lunch, tweet about them, write Facebook statuses about them, and use them to propel discussions during student congress events.

This Monday was no exception. This Monday was staff and faculty testimony chapel, which has traditionally been one of my favorites every semester. We heard from a woman who works in the registrar office about her walk with Christ. I would highly encourage you to listen to her message here. Make sure to click the “Glen and Nancy Elwood” link. I’m not going to spoil the ending for you, because the way she presented her story was so powerful that I don’t want to interfere with that at all.

There are many things you can take away from this message, but I think the most important of them is that you should never give up in praying for others. This message was convicting for me because so often I’ve given up in my prayers after a year or so simply because I think that the situation is hopeless. The woman who spoke in chapel gave me an entirely different perspective however. For sixteen years she prayed for someone, with miraculous results. I had to share her message because it holds such truth and such hope. Please listen to the link. In the four years I’ve attended Asbury’s chapels, this is only the second message that has gotten a standing ovation. Her devotion to God in times of despair is truly inspiring. If nothing else, she so gracefully reminded me that we believe in a God who answers prayers. Nothing is impossible with him.
Leave a Reply

